Summer Isles

Summer Isles

How do I get to the Summer Isles?  The Summer Isles lie just a mile off the Coigach Peninsula, north of Ullapool, in the North-West Highlands of Scotland.  They consist of Tanera Mor (the only inhabited island) and other smaller islands Bottle Island, Horse Island, Isle Martin, Eilean Dubh, Glas-leac Beag, Glas-leac Mòr, Priest Island, Tanera Beag, Càrn nan Sgeir, Eilean Mullagrach and Isle Ristol.  Tours of the Summer Isles are available from Summer Isles Sea Tours and on the Summer Queen (with each tour landing on one of the islands).


How do I get around the Summer Isles?   On foot.  The Summer Isles have no roads and the only path on Tanera Mor goes around the sheltered bay on the east side of the island.


What’s worth visiting on the Summer Isles?  There is a Salmon Farm, a Post Office and a Cafe on Tanera Mor and there are excellent walks and views on all the islands.


Where can I stay on the Summer Isles?  There are five holiday cottages available to let on the Summer Isles that sleep from four to eleven.  Some of the cottages are restored Croft Houses.  The cottages include The School House and the Farm House.


Any other information on the Summer Isles?  Since 1970 the Summer Isles have been issuing stamps of the islands for tourists who place them on mail to be carried to the nearest Post Box on the mainland.  It is also the last place in Britain to print its own stamps.


Other islands around Skye (including Skye): Canna, Eigg, Muck, Raasay, Rona, Rum and Skye


[googlemap address=”summer isles” width=”600″ height=”340″ position=”left”]

Leave a Comment